Skip to content

as i sit and listen

June 1, 2015

from my place I can hear music from a lot of places. tonight is across the river, I think. it is the rose festival.

listening to the music, I cant  help but think, there are no women singing or playing music tonight..this is not anomaly. in tango, salsa, rock, country, ambient, EDM,  and many dance music there are no women. but there ARE only not played and obscured.

on the radio, some women played, mostly lamenting songs about men or sex men up tunes.. music in mainstream, in festivals is mens, lets say 80-90 percent, not unlike other percentages in the patriarchy, and women think this is normal. of course men would, its all about them.

I notice every detail about every sound made, every tune played, every word spoken,every action and every person in any so called “position” of power.  I notice a lot.

I sit and listen.

then I act.  because I am, the opposite and so I will act according to me and not as a response.

and I got my own music and I sing it.

peace

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

